Who saw that Barao vs. Faber fight? I know Herb Dean is a quality ref, but that was a pretty bad stoppage. I mean, sure, Faber was not doing well, but he was obviously defending and had control of his wits. I have seen so many fights go one much longer than that, and how that one got stopped, I have no idea.

The thing that bothers me a little is I seem to vaugley remember a similar bad stop by Mr. Dean a few months back. I can't remember the exact fight off the top of my head, but it was something extremely similar. I'm not sure if it's just a coincidence, a statistical norm (he does ref A LOT), a mistaken memory, or time for him to reevaluate his commitment to reffing. 

The rest of the card was great though, so that's a bonus. It just sucks when the main fight ends in such a bad way after the rest of the night was great. You could even see Dana White a little annoyed in the background. It reminds me of the Hendricks vs. GSP fight...different cause of the bad taste in my mouth after the last fight, but the same idea of a great card getting messed up by someone who is not one of the fighters.

Anyway, 2/22 looks like it has potential. I know I'll be watching. Will you?



Leave a Reply.